Day 70 So much room for activities

For those of you that have been waiting patiently for this one…I’m sorry actually sorry. Your patience is appreciated. Also love to my man forever Harry Tivnen for the new photo.

 

So for the large part Tsinghua have actually nailed sports. There is a silly amount of space to exercise in and its mostly well maintained. Like they have bare basketball courts, tennis courts, two running tracks with football pitches on the inside and outdoor gyms. Everything is free to use and you don’t have to book so there is definitely an emphasis on giving students the opportunity to do exercise and team sport be it casual or competitive. BTW the outdoor gyms are kinda dead, just a few bars that you can do bodyweight stuff on but better than nothing! This is all bless up but the main issue here is this stuff is all outside so when the air is ‘hazardous’ you are mad limited. I’ve played basketball and stuff when the smog has been bad, not hazardous, and you can definitely feel it lol.

 

So I briefly flirted with the idea of playing for the Tsinghua Ultimate Frisbee team innit. That came to an end so quickly. First practice I went to was 3 hours long and basically all cardio. On a scale of 1 – Skepta that’s not me. They wanted me to go to extra sessions as well for the competitive team. We’re talking like 12-15 hours of cardio a week. #ANTI_GAINZ

 

Ya boy is still going strong on the Yoga you know. It somehow manages to be simultaneously peak and not peak. Like I walk in and I’m considerably the biggest person in there (I’m not even wham either). Anyways then the actual Yoga starts and I’m all like it’s not fair. Everyone else is cheating being all tiny and that. So much less body mass to get in the way. Its all in Chinese too – like I can mostly just look and copy but every now and then I’m caught slipping still in a downward dog and the whole class has moved on. Not gonna lie always leave Yoga feeling all kindsa refreshed. Inner peace I’m coming for you fam.

 

Alright imma move on to the gym now as requested by dem boyz. So as I said a while ago the gym is mostly a shit show of absolute nonsense. The actual gym itself is pretty good despite not having a squat rack (CLANG) it’s the people and how it is used that’s the problem.

 

  1. No one puts anything away – Like fucking nothing gets put away. People leave plates literally everywhere. Instead of putting them away on racks, people actually just stack em on the ground. Also good luck trying to find the dumbbells you want.
  2. Bad form – this one doesn’t really annoy me but I have never seen so many people in the same gym at the same time lift with such crazy form. Like I’m no personal trainer but I swear down these lot are basically inventing new exercise lol.
  3. People stare – if you’re not Chinese people will stare at you in the gym. Its weird. Like someone actually once walked so that he was in my eyeline to smile at me mid-set. ALLOW ME PLS.
  4. Clothing – so this one is actually just bare dumb. Every time I go to the gym I can almost guarantee that I will see someone lifting in jeans and probably a shirt too. WHY? If nothing else that has to be uncomfortable. Also are you really gonna wear those clothes out the gym and continue with the rest of your day in the same clothes. C’MON MAN.
  5. Phones – if you’re using your phone between sets that’s fine but I’ve literally seen people on the phone mid-set. Like what’s the point fam? I saw someone texting as they were doing sit ups. PLS Y? it cannot be that urgent and if it is surely just leave the gym?

 

All this being said I still can get a workout done so can’t really complain. Shout out you if you made it all the way through.

 

 

Leave a comment