Day 18 BRUUUUUUUUUH

To say I’m tired of the food would be a huge understatement. I wish that the canteens would just allow me. I know I said that I was looking forward to eating authentic chinese food everyday. Well ignorance is bliss and I was mad blissful to what was gonna come. As we all know my mandarin is diverse shall we say? Diverse enough it turns out that I don’t nearly have enough vocabulary to read any of the canteen menus. Been surviving by pointing and hoping for the best. Ordering food really is an emotional rollercoaster you know. Many a dream has been sold…I ordered what I thought was a plate full of chicken, turned out to be tofu. I think that may have been my lowest point yet. I’ve had to get second meals coz what I thought was chicken was actually vegetables. Criminal innit. All I want is chicken and rice, I’m a simple youte you know. Authentic Chinese food it turns out is quite different from what we get back home. Like chicken in black bean sauce, where you at fam? For all this emotional heartbreak and distress there has been a beacon of hope and prosperity. My breakfast game is level 9000, you can’t touch me best believe. French toast and this weird chicken tikka bun has been my go to for the best part of two weeks now. Chicken for breakfast I hear you say! I have 3 things to say in response. Number 1 I don’t give a fuck bruh; I’m a reckless rudeboy that will eat chicken when I want. Number 2 you ain’t seen the other breakfast options – DEADOUT. Number 3 any meal option where I’m guaranteed chicken (ie. Not veggies or tofu masquerading as chicken) is gonna become one of my go-to’s. Number 4 (bonus reason) I LOVE CHICKEN – I would eat chicken happily for every meal of the day for the rest of my life. Like finding a dish that has a lotta chicken in is already difficult enough so when I got it on tap best believe its getting tapped up.

Shout out rice tho! Rice been there for me since day 1. Like I love rice and rice loves me – no deception. I’m mad thankful that rice is big outchea. Rice is life. So much so that imma say a lil prayer for any Chinese kid growing up not liking rice. Best believe your life ain’t nuthin but a peak thang if you’re not a fan of rice. That being said how can you not like rice? Have I said rice too much?

I have had some really delicious meals outchea. There has however been a mad correlation between the number of delicious meals I’ve eaten and the presence of my chinese friends. Quentin brought me in on the most delicious chicken wings I’ve ever had. They don’t fuck up the base when it comes to ordering the good stuff. No pictures because I’m yet to eat any photogenic food…

P.S shout out watermelons – I been drinking watermelon

Leave a comment